Audit Log

Got something cool to share with AppGini users? Feel free to post it here!
zkarwinkar
Posts: 8
Joined: 2021-06-12 21:01

Re: Audit Log

Post by zkarwinkar » 2021-06-30 17:39

How to manually install this plugin ?

User avatar
onoehring
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 1034
Joined: 2019-05-21 22:42
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Audit Log

Post by onoehring » 2021-07-01 05:07

Hi,

please read the documentation provided in the ZIP file. This also explains how to install manually.
But I strongly recommend using the plugin, even if this means, you would need to by a plugin first - but it will safe you lot's of work and make the installation of future versions and in other files faster ... actually needing a few clicks only.

Olaf

sacgtdev
Veteran Member
Posts: 54
Joined: 2020-06-10 11:14

Re: Audit Log

Post by sacgtdev » 2021-07-01 14:46

I have installed the Audit log 1.93 via the plugins 'Audit log for Appgini', however Audit log menu was not shown in the admin page.

I am using XAMPP to run the application, the following is the structure of the folder:
Using Xampp (htdocs)
Application installed in test folder.
C:\xampp\htdocs\test

Plugins folder:
C:\xampp\htdocs\test\plugins

-plugins-resources
-projects
-audit (unzip the github contents into this folder- app-resources, etc...)

After run the plugin installation, audit folder is generated in hooks folder.
Hooks folder:
C:\xampp\htdocs\test\hooks
-audit (auditLog_functions.php, etc...)

I also have auditLog_functions.php in the hooks.

It seems that the application is trying to read the auditLog_functions in hooks, instead of hooks/audit folder. Wonder what went wrong here? Any suggestions?

sacgtdev
Veteran Member
Posts: 54
Joined: 2020-06-10 11:14

Re: Audit Log

Post by sacgtdev » 2021-07-07 09:04

Finally, I discovered that the menu was not showed up because I have to manually add it in the 'admin/incHeader.php' as shown in documentation pg. 11 section 3.2

After put the code, the menu will show up in the left instead of right.

I also also check on the config.php but no code was appending at the bottom as shown in pg. 11 section 3.1

I have manually copy and paste the code in config.php and refresh the page but the page doesn't render. I get a feeling something is not right in the code.

I wonder whether the plugin installation covers the appending of code in config.php and incHeader.php as well. Or, it required to be done manually.

It is because what happened in my case is only the files was properly generated and moved to the respective directories (admin and hooks/audit folder after enable the audit log for Appgini.

I need help here especially from those who have successfully installed it?

sacgtdev
Veteran Member
Posts: 54
Joined: 2020-06-10 11:14

Re: Audit Log

Post by sacgtdev » 2021-07-10 06:11

I would like to just share my own experience, despite encounter some clichés, but the overall audit is still functional.

After plugin installation:
I discovered that the menu was not showed up then I have to manually add it in the 'admin/incHeader.php' as shown in documentation pg. 11 section 3.2 I have seen the code, in _global.php, the code was require the scripts.php which associate to the js to render audit menu.

I am not proficient enough to address this. But, if you put the code manually, the menu will show up in the left instead of right. Just beware of overwriting of this code at every Appgini code generation.

I also also check on the config.php but no code was appending at the bottom as shown in pg. 11 section 3.1
The plugins installation will not append code in config.php, instead the code is put at _global.php which include the 'audit/scripts.php'

My installation [plugins]
1) create a folder named 'audit' in plugins folder (this folder exists if you have purchase plugins before)
2) download the code https://github.com/myappgini/sbm_audit_log and place the content in the zip in 'audit' folder
3) Go to admin page, under plugin+ menu, select 'Audit Log for Appgini'
4) Click the 'enable Audit' button. There you go..

I am grateful to Jsetzer and landinialejandro for creating this plugin and make it FREE anyway.

User avatar
onoehring
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 1034
Joined: 2019-05-21 22:42
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Audit Log

Post by onoehring » 2021-07-29 07:49

Hi sacgtdev,

thank you for reporting your experience. I hope I will find the time soon to generate a completely new AG application and test plugin installation with that. I am sorry, that the plugin installation did not work for you as we expected - but it should have :-).
Also, when the Audit-menu in the admin area is shown on the left it seems, not the code from button.js is being used. This code should make the menu show up on the right.

Olaf

sacgtdev
Veteran Member
Posts: 54
Joined: 2020-06-10 11:14

Re: Audit Log

Post by sacgtdev » 2021-08-02 23:41

I have test in other environment and it works fine. The audit log menu appeared at top right.

Thank you.

User avatar
onoehring
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 1034
Joined: 2019-05-21 22:42
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Audit Log

Post by onoehring » 2021-08-22 09:45

Hi,

thank you for clearing the problem. Hope you like the plugin & auditlog and you will find it useful.

Olaf

sacgtdev
Veteran Member
Posts: 54
Joined: 2020-06-10 11:14

Re: Audit Log

Post by sacgtdev » 2021-10-03 03:09

Hi, onoehring

I am experiencing a little annoyance after install the audit log on Appginin 5.97. When I navigate to admin page after the first login attempt, it will return me to an login page again. I have to re-login in order to access the Admin page.

May I know whether this is bug that ye to resolved or my installation step got problem.

User avatar
onoehring
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 1034
Joined: 2019-05-21 22:42
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Audit Log

Post by onoehring » 2021-10-06 06:59

Hi,

I, sometimes, experience the same problem, but I don't think it's connected to the AuditLog.
What makes you think it is?

Olaf

sacgtdev
Veteran Member
Posts: 54
Joined: 2020-06-10 11:14

Re: Audit Log

Post by sacgtdev » 2021-10-08 00:18

I did the test before and after installation of audit log. However, I didn't meant that the flaw is from the audit log, it could be the conflict with existing setup. I will try on a fresh generated application using Appgini 5.97 (before and after) to confirm again.

User avatar
onoehring
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 1034
Joined: 2019-05-21 22:42
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Audit Log

Post by onoehring » 2021-10-08 05:31

Hi,

I think this has not been reported as a bug. Maybe you want to do so (viewforum.php?f=11)?

Olaf

Post Reply