Console Error on login & home page in V5.8.1

Please report bugs and any annoyances here. Kindly include all possible details: steps to reproduce, expected result, actual result, screenshots, ... etc.
Post Reply
peebee
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 352
Joined: 2013-03-21 04:37

Console Error on login & home page in V5.8.1

Post by peebee » 2020-01-14 06:48

Hate to be picky but I just upgraded an app to V5.8.1 and noticed that /common.js is causing a console error when loading the login and home page (or any other non /admin/ page without a table name in the URL).

Error: "AppGini.currentTableName: Could not retrieve table name from page URL"

The error is caused by this snippet at line 1857 of common.js as of course there is no table name in the URL of those pages:

Code: Select all

AppGini.currentTableName = function() {
	// retrieve current table name from page URL
	var tables = location.href.match(/\/([a-zA-Z0-9_]+)_view\.php/);
	if(undefined == tables || undefined == tables.length || undefined == tables[1]) {
		console.error('AppGini.currentTableName: Could not retrieve table name from page URL');
		return false;
	}
To replicate - load either of these pages and check the console for errors: https://bigprof.com/demo/index.php?signIn=1 or https://bigprof.com/demo/index.php

AppGini.currentTableName = function() appears to have been introduced since v5.80 for calculated fields so this is a new error? It doesn't seem to create any issues that I can see but any error in the console is far from perfect and not a particularly good look.

As I'm not entirely sure what AppGini.currentTableName = function() is doing so I haven't had a go at fixing the error. Just reporting for what it's worth.

User avatar
jsetzer
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 1807
Joined: 2018-07-06 06:03
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Console Error on login & home page in V5.8.1

Post by jsetzer » 2020-01-14 07:01

Good morning,

according to Ahmed's answer of October 26th 2019 we all CAN IGNORE this log entry. It does not break any functionality and he is going to remove that debug information in a future release.

Best,
Jan

PS: This is what we are talking about:
chrome_vBADcOrNJs.png
chrome_vBADcOrNJs.png (3.22 KiB) Viewed 4384 times
Kind regards,
<js />

My AppGini Blog:
https://appgini.bizzworxx.de/blog

You can help us helping you:
Please always put code fragments inside [code]...[/code] blocks for better readability

AppGini 24.10 Revision 1579 + all AppGini Helper tools

peebee
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 352
Joined: 2013-03-21 04:37

Re: Console Error on login & home page in V5.8.1

Post by peebee » 2020-01-14 22:37

Sorry Jan (and Ahmed), my apologies for nagging on something already reported. Should obviously have searched a little better.

It did appear that no actual error(s) were being caused - but any console error is very irritating nonetheless. Good to see it is being addressed. Thanks.

Post Reply