"Add/Edit Data Format" does not seem to work for me...

The recommended method of customizing your AppGini-generated application is through hooks. But sometimes you might need to add functionality not accessible through hooks. You can discuss this here.
Post Reply
KSan
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 252
Joined: 2013-01-08 20:17

"Add/Edit Data Format" does not seem to work for me...

Post by KSan » 2013-04-14 21:37

Hi, today I wanted to create a new time format so I decided to try the suggested approach ... edit dataFormats.cfg file living in the add-ons subfolder of AppGini. I added a new format at the end and restarted AppGini but the new format did not show up. I then edited the description of the first format by adding a letter just to see if this file is pulled into AppGini and again the update did not make it in there.

It seems like there is a new source for the formats and the help text in AppGini is not updated. Does anyone have an idea? Thanks for your guidance.

Yilmaz
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-24 16:58

Re: "Add/Edit Data Format" does not seem to work for me...

Post by Yilmaz » 2013-04-17 14:28

Hi KSan,

I am using AppGini vers.5 and I added the following code in C:\Program Files (x86)\AppGini\add-ons\dataFormats.cfg:

Code: Select all

...
EU Short Date/Time (example YILMAZ: 18.11.2023 19:10 Uhr); DATE_FORMAT(%%FIELD%%, '%d.%m.%Y %H:%i')
...
With this code I can now see the data format select option above within AppGini > my_table > Data Format > Format this field as.

- Did you restart your AppGini file?
- Do you have admin rights for the directory where the datFormats.cfg is stored?
- You should may be use a text editor like Notepad++ to edit the dataFormats.cfg because of the single or double quotes problem!?

Yilmaz

KSan
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 252
Joined: 2013-01-08 20:17

Re: "Add/Edit Data Format" does not seem to work for me...

Post by KSan » 2013-04-17 17:13

Yilmaz merhaba!,

Thanks much for your reply. I was encouraged to go back and double check all I did. I did make the C:\Program Files (x86)\AppGini Read/Write as it was ReadOnly thanks to the Windows 7 defaults and then used PSPad rather than NotePad which handled the linebreaks better. I can now add new formats and they are seen by Appgini after a restart.

We can write this one off as a user error on my part!

Regards & thanks,
Kerem

Yilmaz
Posts: 22
Joined: 2013-01-24 16:58

Re: "Add/Edit Data Format" does not seem to work for me...

Post by Yilmaz » 2013-04-18 15:10

Selam Kerem,

no problem, you're welcome ;-)

Yilmaz

Post Reply