Why this provision?

The recommended method of customizing your AppGini-generated application is through hooks. But sometimes you might need to add functionality not accessible through hooks. You can discuss this here.
Post Reply
pasbonte
Veteran Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2013-02-06 09:49

Why this provision?

Post by pasbonte » 2019-02-01 13:55

Hello
Before the display was normal..and now I have that..I do not understand!
You have an idea ?
thank you
01022019.JPG
01022019.JPG (47.66 KiB) Viewed 326 times

bescott53
Veteran Member
Posts: 118
Joined: 2013-02-24 00:13

Re: Why this provision?

Post by bescott53 » 2019-02-01 20:33

Looks like the issue is your last column, do you need to restrict the number of characters on display in table view?
Appgini 5.72

pasbonte
Veteran Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2013-02-06 09:49

Re: Why this provision?

Post by pasbonte » 2019-02-07 11:20

I still have the problem, it's not pretty!
Attachments
07022019 appgini.JPG
07022019 appgini.JPG (47.8 KiB) Viewed 266 times

User avatar
jsetzer
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 90
Joined: 2018-07-06 06:03
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Why this provision?

Post by jsetzer » 2019-02-07 12:34

@pasbonte: Because "pretty" is a very subjective feeling, can you please describe in words, what should the browser display, what is your expectation?

If you mean the width of the 3rd and 4th column of the 4-column screenshot and the width of the 9th column of the 9-column screenshot:
  • as bescott53 has already said, you can modify the number of characters to show in AppGini directly and
  • you can modify the width of each column in AppGini directly
Additionally you can use CSS to fine-adjust the column-widths in table view:

Code: Select all

.TABLENAME-COLUMNAME { 
  min-width: ... ;
  width: ...; 
  max-width: ...;
}

Regards,
Jan

pasbonte
Veteran Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2013-02-06 09:49

Re: Why this provision?

Post by pasbonte » 2019-02-07 13:23

Re
I make the modifications and it is always the same thing, I wish to have column 4 identical to column 7.
Attachments
07022019 appgini2.JPG
07022019 appgini2.JPG (56.64 KiB) Viewed 262 times
07022019 appgini.JPG
07022019 appgini.JPG (61.5 KiB) Viewed 263 times

User avatar
jsetzer
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 90
Joined: 2018-07-06 06:03
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Why this provision?

Post by jsetzer » 2019-02-07 14:25

@pasbonte: did you try what bescott53 and I have suggested to solve your problem?

Can you then please upload...
  • screenshots where we can see the number of characters and the column widths per field
  • your css style for the columns. Where did you put the CSS code?
Regards,
Jan

peebee
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 207
Joined: 2013-03-21 04:37

Re: Why this provision?

Post by peebee » 2019-02-08 05:00

Yes, as bescott53 and jsetzer suggested it looks you need to limit the amount of characters viewable per field by entering a value in the "Max characters in table view" box for each field to be shown in the specific table view. See below.
screenshot.jpg
screenshot.jpg (19.82 KiB) Viewed 236 times
Or you can control column widths in hooks with the tablename_init() function:
https://bigprof.com/appgini/help/advanc ... ename_init

You can read about the ColWidth datalist object here:
https://bigprof.com/appgini/help/advanc ... ist-object

And then if you want to try overriding generated column widths in your table view, read the last post on this old thread https://forums.appgini.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=776 for how to implement in your hooks. It's a very old post but should still work OK in current Appgini.

Using the example in that thread above - you set the column widths in this array: $options->ColWidth = array( 150, 15, 15, 15, 15, 15, 10, 15);

You can get the "$options->ColCaption = array" and "$options->ColNumber = array" details you need from near of the bottom of the existing yourtablename_view.php file.

pasbonte
Veteran Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2013-02-06 09:49

Re: Why this provision?

Post by pasbonte » 2019-02-08 09:45

Hello
That's what it gives by respecting the screenshot of "Pebee".
Always the same.
I will try the CSS ...
Attachments
08022019 appgini 2.JPG
08022019 appgini 2.JPG (144.83 KiB) Viewed 227 times
08022019 appgini 1.JPG
08022019 appgini 1.JPG (61.46 KiB) Viewed 227 times

pasbonte
Veteran Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2013-02-06 09:49

Re: Why this provision?

Post by pasbonte » 2019-02-08 15:34

I don't understand !
Attachments
07022019 appgini3.JPG
07022019 appgini3.JPG (63.73 KiB) Viewed 214 times

pasbonte
Veteran Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2013-02-06 09:49

Re: Why this provision?

Post by pasbonte » 2019-02-08 16:39

Only.
...
Attachments
07022019 appgini4.JPG
07022019 appgini4.JPG (54.81 KiB) Viewed 211 times

pasbonte
Veteran Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2013-02-06 09:49

Re: Why this provision?

Post by pasbonte » 2019-02-08 17:48

it's a BUG !!!

User avatar
jsetzer
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 90
Joined: 2018-07-06 06:03
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Why this provision?

Post by jsetzer » 2019-02-08 17:52

Sorry, @pasbonte, I cannot follow you. This is a complete different table and a customized layout than you started your help-request with.
Did you try what we have suggested to help you on your intial problem? Did it solve your initial problem?

Regards,
Jan

pasbonte
Veteran Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2013-02-06 09:49

Re: Why this provision?

Post by pasbonte » 2019-02-11 09:43

Hello
No, it's the same table I'm putting on or removing columns from. AND my problematic column is still too thin.
I just tried with different templates.

pasbonte
Veteran Member
Posts: 50
Joined: 2013-02-06 09:49

Re: Why this provision?

Post by pasbonte » 2019-02-12 08:26

Hello
I deleted the field and I recreated it then and there it is good.
Attachments
12022019 appgini5.JPG
12022019 appgini5.JPG (87.33 KiB) Viewed 146 times

Post Reply