Page 1 of 1

Copy registers from one table to another according to specific conditions

Posted: 2020-10-06 16:05
by balfons
Hi all!

I was trying to find some information/tips about having an action button (or modifiying an existant one) to do this:

- I have a parent_table, a child_table and a master_table and what I want to do is:
1) I create a register in the parent_table
2) If the field1 of the parent_table equals the field2 of the master_table, then I want to retrieve some columns of a record from the master_table and copy them to the child_table
3) I would like to retrieve not just the columns from one record but from all registers that match the condition (parent_table.field1 = master_table.field2)

I tried to find a post talking about this but couldn't find any.

Thanks in advance

Re: Copy registers from one table to another according to specific conditions

Posted: 2020-10-09 15:39
by pfrumkin
I would look at creating a button in a JQuery -dv script, or even in the dv hook. The button would invoke a .php script that would do the SQL. I have this to create a button in a dv hook. This uses the Helpers library from Bizzworkxx (https://appgini.bizzworxx.de/).

Code: Select all

		if($memberInfo['group'] =='Admins') {
			ob_start(); ?>
				<script>
				$j(function(){
					if ($j( '#Status' ).val() == "Just Added") {
						// Show button to Send Request
						var targetRootURL = "hooks/send_request.php?recID=";
//						var targetURL = targetRootURL;
						var targetURL = targetRootURL.concat($j( 'input[name=SelectedID]' ).val());
						var dv = new AppGiniDetailView();
						var actionbuttons = dv.actionbuttons;
						var group = actionbuttons.addGroup("Actions");
						group.addLink("Send Request", targetURL, Variation.Primary, "send");
					}
				})
				</script>
			<?php 
			$new_layout = ob_get_contents();
			ob_end_clean();
		
			$html .= $new_layout;
		}
The PHP script would have code like in a hook to do the SQL. At the end, something like

Code: Select all

echo '<script type="text/javascript">
              alert("Request sent, press ok to continue")
              window.location.href = "../tablename_view.php"
              </script>';
to return focus back to the tableview.

Good luck.
~Paul

Re: Copy registers from one table to another according to specific conditions

Posted: 2020-10-15 09:47
by balfons
Thanks, I would try this solution