Icons, Skins

Wish to see a specific feature/change in future releases? Feel free to post it here, and if it gets enough "likes", we'd definitely include it in future releases!
Post Reply
bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

Icons, Skins

Post by bambinou » 2013-05-23 19:35

Hello,

I believe it would have been fantastic to have the possibility to set our own icons for each categories.
Also have more web 2.0 skins is so important as the current layout looks a little outdated(apart form the form vs new apps/websites coming out.

Will it be possible to have more Ajax in the future? So the updates are done without refresh?

I know this is a lot of work.....sorry.

Thank you,


Ben

User avatar
a.gneady
Site Admin
Posts: 1287
Joined: 2012-09-27 14:46
Contact:

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by a.gneady » 2013-05-29 10:14

Hi Ben,

I'm working on implementing this indeed in future releases. Stay tuned :)

To add more table icons, just save them to the folder "C:\Program Files\AppGini\files\resources\table_icons" and they'll be automatically displayed in the table icons dialog. Please note that the icon(s) should be in PNG format and of dimensions 32x32 pixels.
:idea: AppGini plugins to add more power to your apps:
  • DataTalk is an innovative AppGini plugin based on ChatGPT that allows you to interact with your AppGini database using natural language questions, without writing any SQL. Check the demo video
  • Mass Update plugin: Update multiple records at once and improve your workflow efficiency.
  • Check our other plugins and get a generous discount of up to 30% when buying 2 or more plugins.

bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by bambinou » 2013-05-29 17:37

Hi Ahmad,

Thank you so much for the reply.

Great news!!

Just one question please, you said to add the icons in that folder but how to re-order the icons? I believe your script will take them in order no?

Thank you,

Ben

User avatar
a.gneady
Site Admin
Posts: 1287
Joined: 2012-09-27 14:46
Contact:

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by a.gneady » 2013-06-04 00:27

They'll be listed in the same order as they appear in Windows Explorer, which is typically alphabetical order.
:idea: AppGini plugins to add more power to your apps:
  • DataTalk is an innovative AppGini plugin based on ChatGPT that allows you to interact with your AppGini database using natural language questions, without writing any SQL. Check the demo video
  • Mass Update plugin: Update multiple records at once and improve your workflow efficiency.
  • Check our other plugins and get a generous discount of up to 30% when buying 2 or more plugins.

bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by bambinou » 2013-06-05 21:10

Hi ahmad,

Thanks!,

Ben

bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by bambinou » 2013-06-19 13:31

Hi ahmad,

Sorry but I am confused. I cannot work out how to change the icons on the home.php page, I keep seeing a book in all my category tables.

Please help,

Thank you,

Ben

bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by bambinou » 2013-06-19 13:42

Ok found it, you have a hook for this, could you please tell me if the below example would work? I cannot work out how to space the links when you have more than 1 link

$homeLinks[0] = array(
'url' => 'employee_records_view.php',
'title' => 'Link title 0',
'description' => 'Link text',
'groups' => array('group1', 'group2'), // groups allowed to see this link, use '*' if you want to show the link to all groups
'tileClasses' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to link block
'textClasses' => '' // optional CSS classes to apply to link description
'icon' => 'path/to/icon' // optional icon to use with the link
);

$homeLinks[1] = array(
'url' => 'training_records_view.php',
'title' => 'Link title 1',
'description' => 'Link text',
'groups' => array('group1', 'group2'), // groups allowed to see this link, use '*' if you want to show the link to all groups
'tileClasses' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to link block
'textClasses' => '' // optional CSS classes to apply to link description
'icon' => 'path/to/icon' // optional icon to use with the link
);


For both the page and icon paths, do they have to be full http paths? or can I just add the folder/file.png here this way??

Thank you,

Ben

User avatar
a.gneady
Site Admin
Posts: 1287
Joined: 2012-09-27 14:46
Contact:

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by a.gneady » 2013-06-20 15:41

You can specify a path relative the main folder where your application is uploaded.
:idea: AppGini plugins to add more power to your apps:
  • DataTalk is an innovative AppGini plugin based on ChatGPT that allows you to interact with your AppGini database using natural language questions, without writing any SQL. Check the demo video
  • Mass Update plugin: Update multiple records at once and improve your workflow efficiency.
  • Check our other plugins and get a generous discount of up to 30% when buying 2 or more plugins.

bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by bambinou » 2013-06-21 13:31

Hi Ahmed,

I have followed your last post but It is showing a blank page:

<?php


$homeLinks[] = array(
'url' => 'admintwo/reg_view.php',
'title' => 'Customer Details',
'description' => 'Check Customer Details',
'groups' => array('Admins'), // groups allowed to see this link, use '*' if you want to show the link to all groups
'tileClasses' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to link block
'textClasses' => '' // optional CSS classes to apply to link description
'icon' => 'admintwo/icons/customers.png' // optional icon to use with the link
);


$homeLinks[] = array(
'url' => 'admintwo/admin/pageHome.php',
'title' => 'Admin',
'description' => 'Admin Area',
'groups' => array('Admins'), // groups allowed to see this link, use '*' if you want to show the link to all groups
'tileClasses' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to link block
'textClasses' => '' // optional CSS classes to apply to link description
'icon' => 'admintwo/icons/admin.png' // optional icon to use with the link
);


I also tried to change the groups by a star * and also by group1 and group 2 . No difference, any idea what I am oing wrong please?

The admintwo folder is where the appgini software is installed.


Thank you,

Ben

bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by bambinou » 2013-06-21 13:44

Ok I got it.

The code in your template has a missing comma

$homeLinks[] = array(
'url' => 'admintwo/reg_view.php',
'title' => 'Customer Details',
'description' => 'Check Customer Details',
'groups' => array('Admins'), // groups allowed to see this link, use '*' if you want to show the link to all groups
'tileClasses' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to link block
'textClasses' => '' <-------------------------HERE
'icon' => 'admintwo/icons/customers.png' // optional icon to use with the link
);

You may wat to fix this little thing in the next update:-))

This is what caused the error.

Now my question is, I have managed to get the new button in but how to remove the "admin" the other button I currently have? I thought this hook would take over the other buttons.

Any idea please?

Thank you,

Ben

bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by bambinou » 2013-06-21 13:51

Sorry to spam but it may help others...

I got it!

You can only show the icons with the normal style and not the Metro style.....

Hope this helps someone..

Ben

shkdxb
Veteran Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 2013-06-28 18:18

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by shkdxb » 2014-06-27 05:17

Tried using $homeLinks[0] = array(... for first array and $homeLinks[1] = array(.... for second link, but home page shows only the first link -$homeLinks[0] = array(...

full code below

Code: Select all

$homeLinks[0] = array(
'url' => 'http://site.com/eitsla/eitsla.php', 
			'title' => 'Dash Board (summery)', 
			'description' => '',
			'groups' => array('*'), // groups allowed to see this link, use '*' if you want to show the link to all groups
			'grid_column_classes' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to link block. See: http://getbootstrap.com/css/#grid
			'panel_classes' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to panel. See: http://getbootstrap.com/components/#panels
			'link_classes' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to link. See: http://getbootstrap.com/css/#buttons
			'icon' => 'http://techserve.byethost5.com/eitsla/appgini/images/dashboard.ico' // optional icon to use with the link
		);
$homeLinks[1] = array(
'url' => 'http://site.com/eitsla/reportico/eitsla2.php', 
			'title' => 'Dash Board (Detailed)', 
			'description' => '',
			'groups' => array('*'), // groups allowed to see this link, use '*' if you want to show the link to all groups
			'grid_column_classes' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to link block. See: http://getbootstrap.com/css/#grid
			'panel_classes' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to panel. See: http://getbootstrap.com/components/#panels
			'link_classes' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to link. See: http://getbootstrap.com/css/#buttons
			'icon' => 'http://techserve.byethost5.com/eitsla/appgini/images/dashboard.ico' // optional icon to use with the link
		);
		
$homeLinks[2] = array(
'url' => 'hooks/Xyz.html', 
			'title' => 'XYZ details', 
			'description' => '',
			'groups' => array('*'), // groups allowed to see this link, use '*' if you want to show the link to all groups
			'grid_column_classes' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to link block. See: http://getbootstrap.com/css/#grid
			'panel_classes' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to panel. See: http://getbootstrap.com/components/#panels
			'link_classes' => '', // optional CSS classes to apply to link. See: http://getbootstrap.com/css/#buttons
			'icon' => 'http://techserve.byethost5.com/eitsla/appgini/images/dashboard.ico' // optional icon to use with the link
		);
why second link is not appering? is it a bug? Appgini version is 5.3.638

User avatar
a.gneady
Site Admin
Posts: 1287
Joined: 2012-09-27 14:46
Contact:

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by a.gneady » 2014-06-28 05:27

Tried your code above and all 3 links appear in the homepage. Here is a screenshot: http://screencast.com/t/Gmjhp7Ct
:idea: AppGini plugins to add more power to your apps:
  • DataTalk is an innovative AppGini plugin based on ChatGPT that allows you to interact with your AppGini database using natural language questions, without writing any SQL. Check the demo video
  • Mass Update plugin: Update multiple records at once and improve your workflow efficiency.
  • Check our other plugins and get a generous discount of up to 30% when buying 2 or more plugins.

shkdxb
Veteran Member
Posts: 40
Joined: 2013-06-28 18:18

Re: Icons, Skins

Post by shkdxb » 2014-06-28 14:12

pl refer my screen. any idea why i am not getting the links in home page?
Attachments
sla status.jpg
sla status.jpg (7.01 KiB) Viewed 12551 times

Post Reply