lookup auto-fill

Wish to see a specific feature/change in future releases? Feel free to post it here, and if it gets enough "likes", we'd definitely include it in future releases!
grimblefritz
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero

lookup auto-fill

Post by grimblefritz » 2016-07-24 15:14

It would be very helpful if there was an option on auto-fill lookups, to store the looked up value in the record, rather than the fkid.

I have tables where it is required (for legal reasons) to record looked up data at the time of transaction. Having the fkid in looked up fields does not meet this requirement, so I end up having to write my own lookup code.

Having the option to record fkid or data, as a native AG capability, would be a great help.

DevGiu
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero

Re: lookup auto-fill

Post by DevGiu » 2016-07-24 16:20

Warning, Newbie here .

Is not Advanced on Lookups what you are looking for? Just change first id for whathever you want to save.
Attachments
Selección_017.png
Selección_017.png (90.1 KiB) Viewed 8891 times
/Giuseppe
Professional Outsourcing Services

grimblefritz
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero

Post by grimblefritz » 2016-07-24 16:40

Not quite.

Imagine a PRODUCTS table:

id
name
cost
price

Now imagine an ORDER_ITEMS table:

id
product_id
name
cost
price
quantity
subtotal

You can setup a lookup, as you illustrate, so when entering ORDER_ITEMS you can select PRODUCTS from a lookup. Yes, you can use advance to fiddle with the sql, but that is only modifying the product_id field handling.

Now imagine, you also want to auto-fill the name, cost and price fields in ORDER_ITEMS, using the values from the PRODUCTS table, as selected by the product_id lookup.