How to get training details under one single name?

Got something cool to share with AppGini users? Feel free to post it here!
Post Reply
bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

How to get training details under one single name?

Post by bambinou » 2013-06-24 14:19

Hello,

I am having a problem,
I would like to have a list of users in a table(which is done), when we click a user, I would like to access another table(or have this table opening below the first table) with all the training records of the user.

IE:
Start Date | End Date | Training name | Passed or not passed or in progress.

How to get the above table for one single user? Remember, this user will have a lot of training records therefore many rows will be needed per users.

Any suggestions?

Thank you,

Ben

KSan
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 252
Joined: 2013-01-08 20:17

Re: How to get training details under one single name?

Post by KSan » 2013-06-25 03:01

You are describing a classic Parent / Child data relationship. Here's what you need in a nutshell.

Table 1 -> Lets call it Employee for example. Has fields such as
Emp_ID -> PriKey
Emp_Name - Var Char
Emp_Active - TInyInt - linked to checkbox in Appgini
etc etc

Table 2 -> Then you have a training table. Lets call it Training Details. Has fields such as
Date
Time
Emp_Name -> this is the field you want to define as a lookup from Table 1. Read the following section in AppGini manual http://bigprof.com/appgini/help/working ... kup-fields

Training Code etc etc etc

When you set it up like this and then go to the Employee table you will see an arrow at the top right that takes you to the child records.

Alternatively you can set the Employee Detail page such that it shows the child records in a table view at the lower part of the employee details page. Pretty neat!!!

Good luck.

bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

Re: How to get training details under one single name?

Post by bambinou » 2013-06-25 22:50

Hi Ksan,

Got it thank you!

I would like to ask you one last thing please.
Let's say you have parent table with a training column.
Now there is a child table with a drop down menu with 10 training names, each time I will add one training, I would like 2 things 2 happen:

1) Remove the trainings form the drop down menu which have already been done

2)Add all the trainings which have been done in the parent table(1 column).

Is this actually possible?

Thank you,

Ben

bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

Re: How to get training details under one single name?

Post by bambinou » 2013-06-25 22:51

Hi Ksan,

Got it thank you!

I would like to ask you one last thing please.
Let's say you have parent table with a training column.
Now there is a child table with a drop down menu with 10 training names, each time I will add one training, I would like 2 things 2 happen:

1) Remove the trainings form the drop down menu which have already been done

2)Add all the trainings which have been done in the parent table(1 column).

Is this actually possible?

Thank you,

Ben

KSan
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 252
Joined: 2013-01-08 20:17

Re: How to get training details under one single name?

Post by KSan » 2013-06-25 23:50

So you would like the trainings that a person took not to appear anymore in the drop-down of available trainings. Yes this is possible but it is a little tricky. I did something very similar recently for a festival booth allocation situation. I will give you some ideas later tonight. Got to run now but will be back.

bambinou
Veteran Member
Posts: 163
Joined: 2013-02-01 15:09

Re: How to get training details under one single name?

Post by bambinou » 2013-06-28 09:15

Hi Ksan,

Yes this would be good, could this be done via hooks or not as I do not want to modify the core files or the update process will become tricky...

Also regarding the parent, child tables, how many can you add on a single page? More than 2?

Thank you,

BEN

Post Reply