User Uploaded Logo Image

Got something cool to share with AppGini users? Feel free to post it here!
Post Reply
rpierce
Veteran Member
Posts: 255
Joined: 2018-11-26 13:55
Location: Washington State

User Uploaded Logo Image

Post by rpierce » 2022-03-26 17:32

Hello,

I have been using some code from a forum discussion (linked here) viewtopic.php?f=8&t=3840&p=14613&hilit= ... 4da#p14613 between pböttcher and bruceholt on uploading a user logo. I have that part working. But there is an additional part to the code that places a default logo image if the user does not upload one of their own. I can't seem to get that part of the code working. So as usual, I'm reaching out for help from the forum. Which by the way, is the best tech forum on the web in my humble opinion. I would love to have this functionality in my app. Please help if you can.

When a user uploads a logo image I can get it to show in my report. But if they don't upload a logo image I cannot get the default image to show. there are screen shots below:
LOGO Printing
Capture.JPG
Capture.JPG (27.89 KiB) Viewed 1244 times
Default LOGO not printing:
Capture2.JPG
Capture2.JPG (27.33 KiB) Viewed 1244 times
Here is the code I have been using:

Code: Select all

<?php

$image=sqlValue("SELECT logo FROM " . get_sql_from('company', false, true));
$path="../images/";
echo '<img src="'.$path.$image.'" id="company_image" style="max-width: 100px;">';

/*var_dump($path);*/

/* *********** PLACE DEFAULT LOGO IF NO CLIENT LOGO UPLOADED ******* */

 
if(file_exists($image=sqlValue("SELECT logo FROM " . get_sql_from('company', false, true)))) {
$path="../images/";
echo '<img src="'.$path.$image.'"  id="company_image" style="max-width: 100px; max-height: 50px; background-color: transparent">';
}
     else {
    $image = 'default.jpg';
}
/*var_dump($image);*/

?>

pbottcher
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 1635
Joined: 2018-04-01 10:12

Re: User Uploaded Logo Image

Post by pbottcher » 2022-03-26 19:40

Hi,

try this:

Code: Select all

<?php
/* *********** PLACE DEFAULT LOGO IF NO CLIENT LOGO UPLOADED ******* */

 
$path="../images/";
if(!file_exists($image=sqlValue("SELECT logo FROM " . get_sql_from('company', false, true)))) {
    $image = 'default.jpg';
}
echo '<img src="'.$path.$image.'"  id="company_image" style="max-width: 100px; max-height: 50px; background-color: transparent">';

?>
Any help offered comes with the best of intentions. Use it at your own risk. In any case, please make a backup of your existing environment before applying any changes.

rpierce
Veteran Member
Posts: 255
Joined: 2018-11-26 13:55
Location: Washington State

Re: User Uploaded Logo Image

Post by rpierce » 2022-03-26 22:33

Hello, and thank you for helping!

I made the changes you indicated and the default logo is appearing but so is the uploaded logo. When the modified code you provided is used alone, only the default logo is shown. Irrespective of weather the user has uploaded an image or not. If no user logo is uploaded, a place holder is shown. I have included screen shots below.

Code: Select all

<?php
/* -- *********** PLACE CLIENT LOGO INTO JHA ******* */

$image=sqlValue("SELECT logo FROM " . get_sql_from('company', false, true));
$path="../images/";
echo '<img src="'.$path.$image.'" id="company_image" style="max-width: 100px;">';

/*var_dump($path);*/

?>


<?php
/* *********** PLACE DEFAULT LOGO IF NO CLIENT LOGO UPLOADED ******* */

$path="../images/";
if(!file_exists($image=sqlValue("SELECT logo FROM " . get_sql_from('company', false, true)))) {
    $image = 'default.jpg';
}
echo '<img src="'.$path.$image.'"  id="company_image" style="max-width: 100px; background-color: transparent">';



/*var_dump($image);*/

?>
**************************

This what is shown if the user uploads a logo image:
upload.JPG
upload.JPG (16.08 KiB) Viewed 1221 times
***************************

This is what is shown if the user does not upload an image:
no-upload.JPG
no-upload.JPG (15.6 KiB) Viewed 1221 times

pbottcher
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 1635
Joined: 2018-04-01 10:12

Re: User Uploaded Logo Image

Post by pbottcher » 2022-03-27 09:46

Hi,

the new code was not meant to be additional, but to replace the old one.
Nevertheless there is something missing.

So try only this:

Code: Select all

<?php
/* *********** PLACE DEFAULT LOGO IF NO CLIENT LOGO UPLOADED ******* */

$path="../images/";
$image=sqlValue("SELECT logo FROM " . get_sql_from('company', false, true));
if(!file_exists($path.$image)) {
    $image = 'default.jpg';
}
echo '<img src="'.$path.$image.'"  id="company_image" style="max-width: 100px; background-color: transparent">';
Any help offered comes with the best of intentions. Use it at your own risk. In any case, please make a backup of your existing environment before applying any changes.

rpierce
Veteran Member
Posts: 255
Joined: 2018-11-26 13:55
Location: Washington State

Re: User Uploaded Logo Image

Post by rpierce » 2022-03-27 18:59

Hi again pböttcher,

I had thought to try the code you supplied on it's own in my experimenting but then it only showed either the uploaded logo or the default logo but won't show the default logo if none is uploaded by the user. The same is true with the new code. If I delete the
"!" in the IF statement. then only the default logo appears irrespective of weather or not the user uploads an image.
*****************
This is what appears if no image is uploaded by the user
*****************
no-upload.JPG
no-upload.JPG (12.47 KiB) Viewed 1194 times
*****************
This is what appears if the user uploads a logo
*****************
upload.JPG
upload.JPG (12.27 KiB) Viewed 1194 times
*****************

Code: Select all

<?php
/* *********** PLACE DEFAULT LOGO IF NO CLIENT LOGO UPLOADED ******* */

$path="../images/";
$image=sqlValue("SELECT logo FROM " . get_sql_from('company', false, true));
if(!file_exists($path.$image)) {
    $image = 'default.jpg';
}
echo '<img src="'.$path.$image.'"  id="company_image" style="max-width: 100px; background-color: transparent">';
?>

pbottcher
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 1635
Joined: 2018-04-01 10:12

Re: User Uploaded Logo Image

Post by pbottcher » 2022-03-28 17:02

Hi again,

can you please try this:

Code: Select all

<?php
/* *********** PLACE DEFAULT LOGO IF NO CLIENT LOGO UPLOADED ******* */

$path="../images/";
$image=sqlValue("SELECT if(count(1),logo,'default.jpg') FROM " . get_sql_from('company', true, true));

echo '<img src="'.$path.$image.'"  id="company_image" style="max-width: 100px; background-color: transparent">';
Any help offered comes with the best of intentions. Use it at your own risk. In any case, please make a backup of your existing environment before applying any changes.

Post Reply