Dropdown list Text, Value pair

Got something cool to share with AppGini users? Feel free to post it here!
Post Reply
Subbalakshmi
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-03-07 11:53

Dropdown list Text, Value pair

Post by Subbalakshmi » 2014-05-02 11:33

Hi All,

I have a requirement to create drop-down list with text and value pair, is there any way in appgini to show texts in dropdown list and storing values related to that text in database.

Looking forward for all suggestions. Thanks in advance.

TheCodeRed
Posts: 26
Joined: 2014-05-01 12:57

Re: Dropdown list Text, Value pair

Post by TheCodeRed » 2014-05-02 16:39

By default AppGini utilizes the value as the stored value. If the dropdown list is provided by a lookup field or contents from another table, the default value will be the ID of the Lookup Table value. When creating a field as a lookup field, you can select how you want the choices to be displayed using 1 or a combination of 2 other fields in the table.

For example...
Table 1 has a list of names.
ID - Name - Age
1 - Paul - 31
2 - Janice - 27
3 - Bob - 19
4 - James - 51

The value of each person is identified by the number 1-4. (Unique Identifier ID)

In the lookup field of your new table you can select which fields are displayed.

If you want the name displayed but the value saved you select lookup field as
Table1.Name

This will display just a list of the names in the dropdown and when a name is selected, the value associated to that name is then assigned to the field selection.
(ie.) If you choose Janice from the list, the value saved in the field is (2)
If you choose James from the list, the value saved in the field is (4)


You can alos display multiple fields as selection text.
Lookup field = Table1.name - Table1.age
Then the list will display the names - age.
The value saved to the table will still be the lookup value (Which is the ID key assigned to that record)

I hope this helps paint a simple picture. AppGini is an amazing tool for these kinds of simple DB and Form setups.

-Red

Subbalakshmi
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-03-07 11:53

Re: Dropdown list Text, Value pair

Post by Subbalakshmi » 2014-05-06 11:18

Thank you so much for your detailed description.

TheCodeRed
Posts: 26
Joined: 2014-05-01 12:57

Re: Dropdown list Text, Value pair

Post by TheCodeRed » 2014-05-08 12:45

No problem. I hope this helped.

Subbalakshmi
Posts: 4
Joined: 2014-03-07 11:53

Re: Dropdown list Text, Value pair

Post by Subbalakshmi » 2014-05-19 11:36

Hi,

Is anyone used tool tip, pop up window in appgini? How to apply tool tip to appgini fieds? Please suggest it. :idea:

TheCodeRed
Posts: 26
Joined: 2014-05-01 12:57

Re: Dropdown list Text, Value pair

Post by TheCodeRed » 2014-05-22 15:05

If by ToolTip you mean the hint as for what the field is for? Just place a description in the field name while creating the field in AppGini.

Post Reply