Audit Log

Got something cool to share with AppGini users? Feel free to post it here!
Post Reply
primitive_man
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 54
Joined: 2014-03-09 20:20

Audit Log

Post by primitive_man » 2014-11-07 13:26

--
-- SQL Table structure for `auditor` table
--

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `auditor` (
`id` int(10) unsigned NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
`username` varchar(50) DEFAULT NULL,
`ipaddr` varchar(25) DEFAULT NULL,
`time_stmp` timestamp NOT NULL DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP ON UPDATE CURRENT_TIMESTAMP,
`change_type` varchar(10) DEFAULT NULL,
`table_name` varchar(40) DEFAULT NULL,
`fieldName` varchar(40) DEFAULT NULL,
`OldValue` text,
`NewValue` text,
PRIMARY KEY (`id`)
) ENGINE=InnoDB DEFAULT CHARSET=ascii;


Functions to Add to: incCommon.php

#########################################################
###### AUDIT LOG FUNCTIONS #######
#########################################################


####### GET TABLE DATA BEFORE ANY CHANGES ########

function table_before_change($TableName, $currentID, $tableID) {
$_SESSION['before_change_sql'] ="";
$fet=sql("SELECT * FROM $TableName WHERE $tableID = $currentID");
$row = mysql_fetch_row($fet);
// STORE THEM IN A SESSION VARIABLE FOR LATER COMPARISON
$row = str_replace("\n", "<br/>", $row);
$row = str_replace("'", "\'", $row);
$_SESSION ['before_change_sql'] = $row;

return;
}


### GET CHANGES AND ADD TO AUDIT LOG ###

function table_after_change($db_name, $TableName, $username, $userIP, $currentID, $tableID, $type){

// GET ALL COLUMN NAMES IN THE TABLE
$colnames = array(); // Create Empty Array
$colquery =sql("SELECT `COLUMN_NAME` FROM `INFORMATION_SCHEMA`.`COLUMNS` WHERE `TABLE_SCHEMA`='$db_name' AND `TABLE_NAME`='$TableName'");

$i = 0;
while ($row = mysql_fetch_array($colquery)) {
foreach($row as $key => $val) {
$colnames[$i] = $val; }
$i++; }

// GET ARRAY OF VALUES AFTER CHANGE
$_SESSION ['after_change_sql'] ="";
$fet=sql("SELECT * FROM $TableName WHERE $tableID = $currentID");
$row = mysql_fetch_row($fet);
$row = str_replace("\n", "<br/>", $row);
$row = str_replace("'", "\'", $row);
$_SESSION ['after_change_sql'] = $row;

// ARRAY OF ORIGINAL VALUES // ARRAY OF UPDATED VALUES
$array1 = $_SESSION ['before_change_sql']; $array2 = $_SESSION ['after_change_sql'];

####### COMPARE BEFORE AND AFTER VALUES AND ADD CHANGED DATA ENTRIES TO AUDIT LOG #######
$del="-DELETED-";
$i = 0;
for ($i = 0; $i <= count($array1); ++$i) {
if ($array1[$i] != $array2[$i])
{// Adds the INITIAL Values and CHANGED values to the auditlog database table

switch (true) {
// START Examples of how to exclude specific fields from being added to the audit Log
case ($colnames[$i] == "editDate"):
break;

case ($colnames[$i] == "editedBy"):
break;

case ($colnames[$i] == "id_cnote"):
break;

case ($colnames[$i] == "fk_res"):
break;
// END of exclusion examples

case ($type == "DELETION"):
sql("INSERT INTO auditor (username, ipaddr, time_stmp, change_type, table_name, fieldName, OldValue, NewValue) VALUES ('$username','$userIP',NOW(),'$type','$TableName','$colnames[$i]','$array1[$i]','$del')", $eo);
break;
default:
sql("INSERT INTO auditor (username, ipaddr, time_stmp, change_type, table_name, fieldName, OldValue, NewValue) VALUES ('$username','$userIP',NOW(),'$type','$TableName','$colnames[$i]','$array1[$i]','$array2[$i]')", $eo);
break;
}

}
}

unset($_SESSION['before_change_sql']);
unset($_SESSION['after_change_sql']);


return;
}


#########################################################
###### END OF AUDIT LOG FUNCTIONS #######
#########################################################


Lines to Add to config.php -:
--------------------------
// IF SESSION VARIABLE NOT SET OR BLANK, SET SESSION VARIABLE 'dbase' with Database Name
if (!(isset($_SESSION ['dbase']) && $_SESSION ['dbase'] != '')) {$_SESSION ['dbase'] = $dbDatabase;};



LINES TO ADD TO ** EACH ** TABLES HOOK THAT YOU WISH TO AUDIT
------------------------------------------------------------
Note: DO NOT add 'table_before_change' function to the tablename_before_insert hook as the $selectedID has not been created yet!



tablename_init Hook:

//////////////GET AND SET TABLE NAME TO SESSSION VARIABLE//////////////////
$_SESSION ['tablenam'] = $options->TableName;
//////////////GET AND SET TABLE ID FIELD NAME TO SESSSION VARIABLE//////////////////
$_SESSION ['tableID'] = $options->PrimaryKey;
$tableID = $_SESSION ['tableID'];


tablename_after_insert hook:

// CHANGED (UPDATED TABLE VALUES) ADDED TO AUDIT LOG
table_after_change($_SESSION ['dbase'], $_SESSION['tablenam'], $memberInfo['username'], $memberInfo['IP'], $data['selectedID'], $_SESSION['tableID'], "INSERTION");


tablename_before_update hook:

// INITIAL TABLE VALUES
table_before_change($_SESSION['tablenam'], $data['selectedID'], $_SESSION['tableID']);


tablename_after_update hook:

// CHANGED (UPDATED TABLE VALUES) ADDED TO AUDIT LOG
table_after_change($_SESSION ['dbase'], $_SESSION['tablenam'], $memberInfo['username'], $memberInfo['IP'], $data['selectedID'], $_SESSION['tableID'], "UPDATE");


tablename_before_delete hook:

// INITIAL TABLE VALUES
table_before_change($_SESSION['tablenam'], $selectedID, $_SESSION['tableID']);


tablename_after_delete hook:

// CHANGED (UPDATED TABLE VALUES) ADDED TO AUDIT LOG
table_after_change($_SESSION ['dbase'], $_SESSION['tablenam'], $memberInfo['username'], $memberInfo['IP'], $selectedID, $_SESSION['tableID'], "DELETION");

primitive_man
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 54
Joined: 2014-03-09 20:20

Re: Audit Log

Post by primitive_man » 2014-11-07 15:32

Slight change to the Audit Log in order to get it to work with MySQL & MySQLi Databases:

mysql_fetch_row should be changed to : db_fetch_row
and
mysql_fetch_array should be changed to : db_fetch_array

primitive_man
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 54
Joined: 2014-03-09 20:20

Re: Audit Log

Post by primitive_man » 2015-01-20 18:50

No Comments? No one tried it?

shkdxb
Veteran Member
Posts: 37
Joined: 2013-06-28 18:18

Re: Audit Log

Post by shkdxb » 2015-08-26 03:50

thanks for sharing the method primitive_man.

is it possible to include as hook instead of IncCommon.php functions? i am afraid when i do any change in Appgini and upload new files this file will be overwritten and i hava to go through the process again. if it is hooks folder, it is safe to make changes through Appgini. is it possible to include audit log as hooh function?
thanks for any help.

primitive_man
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 54
Joined: 2014-03-09 20:20

Re: Audit Log

Post by primitive_man » 2016-01-03 16:34

You may download the files and detailed installation information below: (tiny download, approx. 7kb)
Attachments
audit_log.zip
(6.03 KiB) Downloaded 180 times

shkdxb
Veteran Member
Posts: 37
Joined: 2013-06-28 18:18

Re: Audit Log

Post by shkdxb » 2016-02-21 13:11

Thanks Primitive

could able to install and get the audit log working.i Used 'res_ID' field to show my records ID.

when i search for any record by inputting record ID, inside "Type here to filter data" search box, it is searching only on the visible page and not searching entire Table "auditor".

is it possible to extend the search to entire table?.

primitive_man
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 54
Joined: 2014-03-09 20:20

Re: Audit Log

Post by primitive_man » 2016-03-06 20:21

This is possible but a few alterations have to be made:

1. In auditLog.php ->

A) Add the following code just after 'include("$currDir/incHeader.php");' ->

Code: Select all

	if(!isset($_SESSION ['auditLogRecords'])){
		$_SESSION ['auditLogRecords'] = "10";
		$auditLogRecords = "10";
		} 
	
    if($_SESSION ['auditLogRecords'] == "All"){
		$_SESSION ['auditLogRecords'] = "10000";
		} 	
		
    $auditLogRecords = $_SESSION ['auditLogRecords']; 
B) Find and replace all instances of:

Code: Select all

$adminConfig['recordsPerPage']
with

Code: Select all

$auditLogRecords
C) Just below:

Code: Select all

<div class="page-header"><h1>Audit Log</h1>
add the following:

Code: Select all

<table id="t01" class="table table-striped">
<tr><b>
<th>Records Per Page?</th>
</b>
</tr>
<td class="tdCaptionCell">
<form role="form" action='' method='post'>
<select name="changerecNumbs" id="changerecNumbs">
  <option class="optionText changerecNumbs" id="changerecNumbs" value="">Select</option>
  <option class="optionText changerecNumbs" id="changerecNumbs" value="10">10</option>
  <option class="optionText changerecNumbs" id="changerecNumbs" value="20">20</option>
  <option class="optionText changerecNumbs" id="changerecNumbs" value="30">30</option>
  <option class="optionText changerecNumbs" id="changerecNumbs" value="40">40</option>
  <option class="optionText changerecNumbs" id="changerecNumbs" value="50">50</option>
  <option class="optionText changerecNumbs" id="changerecNumbs" value="All">All</option>
</select>
</form>
</td>
</table>
D) Adding the following CSS information to the bottom of the css styles:

Code: Select all

table#t01 th{
    background-color: #033C73;
    color: #FFFFFF;
  text-align:center;
}
table#t01 td {
text-align: center; 
}
h1 {
color: #033C73;
}

.optionText {
	
color: black;	
}
2. In adminfolder/incHeader.php add the following script to the header:

Code: Select all

<script type="text/javascript">
$j(function() {
 $j("#changerecNumbs").change(function() {
     $j.ajax({
         type: "POST", 
         url: "updatealrs.php",
         data: "recnum="+$j("#changerecNumbs").val(),
		 success: function() {
    window.location.reload(true);
}
     });
 });
});
</script>
3. Create a file called updatealrs.php in the admin folder, it's contents should read ->

Code: Select all

<?php
$currDir=dirname(__FILE__);
require("$currDir/incCommon.php");
include("$currDir/incHeader.php");


if (isset($_POST['recnum'])){
$thenum = $_POST['recnum'];
$_SESSION ['auditLogRecords'] = $thenum;}
?>
LIMITATIONS
Because this method is reliant upon sessions storage, it isn't persistent - i.e., When you log off any changes you've made to the number of records that you can view will default back to 10.
The maximum number of filterable rows is 10,000 (theoretically)

Instead of using session storage for the number of rows to show, it'd be easy to adapt this method to save your preference in the database - I already use this method for changing the theme dynamically, changing record view preferences, archiving the audit log to a txt file on the server and a whole host of other things

shkdxb
Veteran Member
Posts: 37
Joined: 2013-06-28 18:18

Re: Audit Log

Post by shkdxb » 2016-03-18 05:53

Thanks primitive

Instead i created a separate Table in Appgini Application Builder and used same Table name and Field names as yours. now this is part of my main application accessible through Child records as well as with separate Table/ details view with full search function of Appgini

but your code is very excellent which helped me achieve this.

primitive_man
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 54
Joined: 2014-03-09 20:20

Re: Audit Log

Post by primitive_man » 2016-04-15 10:03

I did think of this... but my requirements were somewhat different at the time... though I should have offered this as a better way to add the paging/search options on the audit log page.

I'm currently working on a method of restoring previous values from within the Audit Log Table - and building this as a free plugin, though finding info on plugin building is difficult.

primitive_man
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 54
Joined: 2014-03-09 20:20

Re: Audit Log

Post by primitive_man » 2016-06-07 12:42

CHANGE TO AUDIT LOG FUNCTION:

A section of the 'table_after_change' Function as been updated:
FROM:

Code: Select all

// GET ALL COLUMN NAMES IN THE TABLE
$colnames = array(); // Create Empty Array
$colquery =sql("SELECT `COLUMN_NAME` FROM `INFORMATION_SCHEMA`.`COLUMNS` WHERE `TABLE_SCHEMA`='$db_name' AND `TABLE_NAME`='$TableName'");
$i = 0;
while ($row = db_fetch_array($colquery)) {
foreach($row as $key => $val) {
$colnames[$i] = $val; }
$i++; }
TO:

Code: Select all

// GET ALL COLUMN NAMES IN THE TABLE
$query = sql("SELECT * FROM $TableName LIMIT 1");
$i = 0;
$colnames = array(); // Create Empty Array  
    if ($result = mysqli_query($query)) {
        $finfo = $result->fetch_fields();
        foreach ($finfo as $val) {
		$colnames[$i] = $val->name;
		$i++;			
        }
        $result->free();
}
REASON: Some hosting companies restrict access to the INFORMATION_SCHEMA section of their MySQL Databases - thus, the previous version will often throw an error (Non-Fatal) and retrieve no results.

primitive_man
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 54
Joined: 2014-03-09 20:20

Re: Audit Log

Post by primitive_man » 2016-07-28 16:29

PLEASE IGNORE THE ABOVE -- CORRECT VERSION BELOW!
primitive_man wrote:CHANGE TO AUDIT LOG FUNCTION:

A section of the 'table_after_change' Function as been updated:
FROM:

Code: Select all

// GET ALL COLUMN NAMES IN THE TABLE
$colnames = array(); // Create Empty Array
$colquery =sql("SELECT `COLUMN_NAME` FROM `INFORMATION_SCHEMA`.`COLUMNS` WHERE `TABLE_SCHEMA`='$db_name' AND `TABLE_NAME`='$TableName'");
$i = 0;
while ($row = db_fetch_array($colquery)) {
foreach($row as $key => $val) {
$colnames[$i] = $val; }
$i++; }
TO:

Code: Select all

// GET ALL COLUMN NAMES IN THE TABLE
$colnames = array();$i = 0;
           $query = sql("SHOW COLUMNS FROM $TableName");
            while($result = mysqli_fetch_assoc($query)):
                    $colnames[$i] = $result['Field'];
					$i++;
             endwhile;
REASON: Some hosting companies restrict access to the INFORMATION_SCHEMA section of their MySQL Databases - thus, the previous version will often throw an error (Non-Fatal) and retrieve no results.

User avatar
vaalonv
Posts: 8
Joined: 2016-01-28 10:22

Re: Audit Log

Post by vaalonv » 2018-01-18 16:55

Hi primitive_man,

First of all i must thank you for the great example you shared with us i have found it very useful. I have a small concern when deleting the data from Appgini application level some error codes come in the screen, please see below.

# Time Memory Function Location
1 0.0012 353456 {main}( ) ...\informatat_personale_view.php:0
2 0.0454 3053200 DataList->Render( ) ...\informatat_personale_view.php:295
3 0.0456 3061776 call_user_func:{C:\wamp64\www\app_name\datalist.php:319} ( ) ...\datalist.php:319
4 0.0456 3064440 informatat_personale_delete( ) ...\datalist.php:319
5 0.0463 3064920 informatat_personale_before_delete( ) ...\informatat_personale_dml.php:219
6 0.0463 3064968 table_before_change( ) ...\informatat_personale.php:96
7 0.0463 3065296 sql( ) ...\auditLog_functions.php:10

( ! ) Warning: Missing argument 2 for sql(), called in C:\wamp64\www\app_name\auditLog_functions.php on line 27 and defined in C:\wamp64\www\app_name\admin\incFunctions.php on line 221
Call Stack
# Time Memory Function Location
1 0.0012 353456 {main}( ) ...\informatat_personale_view.php:0
2 0.0454 3053200 DataList->Render( ) ...\informatat_personale_view.php:295
3 0.0456 3061776 call_user_func:{C:\wamp64\www\app_name\datalist.php:319} ( ) ...\datalist.php:319
4 0.0456 3064440 informatat_personale_delete( ) ...\datalist.php:319
5 0.1405 3076680 informatat_personale_after_delete( ) ...\informatat_personale_dml.php:684
6 0.1405 3076848 table_after_change( ) ...\informatat_personale.php:101
7 0.1405 3077168 sql( ) ...\auditLog_functions.php:27

( ! ) Warning: Missing argument 2 for sql(), called in C:\wamp64\www\app_name\auditLog_functions.php on line 37 and defined in C:\wamp64\www\app_name\admin\incFunctions.php on line 221
Call Stack
# Time Memory Function Location
1 0.0012 353456 {main}( ) ...\informatat_personale_view.php:0
2 0.0454 3053200 DataList->Render( ) ...\informatat_personale_view.php:295
3 0.0456 3061776 call_user_func:{C:\wamp64\www\app_name\datalist.php:319} ( ) ...\datalist.php:319
4 0.0456 3064440 informatat_personale_delete( ) ...\datalist.php:319
5 0.1405 3076680 informatat_personale_after_delete( ) ...\informatat_personale_dml.php:684
6 0.1405 3076848 table_after_change( ) ...\informatat_personale.php:101
7 0.2079 3085472 sql( ) ...\auditLog_functions.php:37

Any help will be highly appreciated

User avatar
vaalonv
Posts: 8
Joined: 2016-01-28 10:22

Re: Audit Log

Post by vaalonv » 2018-01-20 22:06

Hi everyone,

I just wanted to share the solution with other Appgini users through a small change on primitiv_man code.

in auditLog_functions.php we need to add $eo at the end of each SQL query like in example 1 bellow. The same needs to be done in the SQL queries for the corresponding table in Hooks follder that we want to audit like in the example 2

Example 1 - $colquery =sql("SELECT `COLUMN_NAME` FROM `INFORMATION_SCHEMA`.`COLUMNS` WHERE `TABLE_SCHEMA`='$db_name' AND `TABLE_NAME`='$TableName'",$eo)

Example 2 - table_after_change($_SESSION ['dbase'], $_SESSION['tablenam'], $memberInfo['username'], $memberInfo['IP'], $selectedID, $_SESSION['tableID'], "DELETION", $eo);

Through those changes the Audit over user activity is done without errors

bescott53
Veteran Member
Posts: 126
Joined: 2013-02-24 00:13

Re: Audit Log

Post by bescott53 » 2018-08-20 21:56

Not sure if anyone is still looking at this, but, I got this to work brilliantly except for the fieldname not be copied into the auditor table, anyone managed to get this working?
Appgini 5.72

Jevgeni
Posts: 1
Joined: 2017-03-12 09:18

Re: Audit Log

Post by Jevgeni » 2018-10-21 07:22

bescott53 wrote:
2018-08-20 21:56
Not sure if anyone is still looking at this, but, I got this to work brilliantly except for the fieldname not be copied into the auditor table, anyone managed to get this working?
Have same problem. Field is empty
Image

pböttcher
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 410
Joined: 2018-04-01 10:12

Re: Audit Log

Post by pböttcher » 2018-10-26 13:42

Hi,

where did you put the code to retrieve the table columns?

// GET ALL COLUMN NAMES IN THE TABLE
$query = sql("SELECT * FROM $TableName LIMIT 1");
$i = 0;
$colnames = array(); // Create Empty Array
if ($result = mysqli_query($query)) {
$finfo = $result->fetch_fields();
foreach ($finfo as $val) {
$colnames[$i] = $val->name;
$i++;
}
$result->free();
}

bescott53
Veteran Member
Posts: 126
Joined: 2013-02-24 00:13

Re: Audit Log

Post by bescott53 » 2019-02-02 23:38

I realised I missed adding the line of code to the config.php file! All sorted now
Appgini 5.72

lawrencekeru
Posts: 26
Joined: 2016-06-24 02:51

Re: Audit Log

Post by lawrencekeru » 2019-04-24 15:46

Works like magic u guy... EXCELLENT JOB

onoehring
Posts: 12
Joined: 2019-05-21 22:42

Re: Audit Log

Post by onoehring » 2019-05-24 12:26

Hi pböttcher,

I tried to install your add on but I received php errors when trying to save an edited record.
Could you maybe post the code version that is the latest one? I tried to incorporate your changes, from your comment on 2018-10-26 15:42 I am not sure if any changes are needed.
Yes, I did use Notepad++ to apply changes to the two tables I was testing on.

Thanks already
Olaf

Post Reply