global search plugin for just specific tables?

Got something cool to share with AppGini users? Feel free to post it here!
Post Reply
User avatar
D Oliveira
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 303
Joined: 2018-03-04 09:30
Location: Orlando, FL

global search plugin for just specific tables?

Post by D Oliveira » 2022-08-02 10:14

Hey guys, does anyone know a mod for the global search script to search just specific tables instead of all tables?

I would like to create separate search pages with each searching specific tables

Code: Select all

<?php
	/**
	 * Basic script to perform global search on all tables of an AppGini application.
	 * Create a new file inside the hooks folder and name it 'global-search.php' then copy this code to it.
	 * Related post: https://forums.appgini.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=1689&p=4510
	 */
	/* Assuming this custom file is placed inside 'hooks' */
	define('PREPEND_PATH', '../');
	$hooks_dir = dirname(__FILE__);
	include("{$hooks_dir}/../defaultLang.php");
	include("{$hooks_dir}/../language.php");
	include("{$hooks_dir}/../lib.php");

	include_once("{$hooks_dir}/../header.php");
	
	
	/* check access: modify this part according to who you want to allow to access this page */
	$mi = getMemberInfo();
	// if(!in_array($mi['username'], array('john.doe', 'jane.doe'))){
	// if(!$mi['username'] || $mi['username'] == 'guest'){

	
	$search = $_REQUEST['search'];
	echo show_search_form($search);
	$results = process_search($search);
	echo render_search_results($results);

	/* function to display search form */
	function show_search_form($search = ''){
		ob_start();
		?>
		 
		<form method="get" action="<?php echo $_SERVER['PHP_SELF']; ?>">
			<div style="text-align: center"><img src="tigerlogo.jpg" style="width:432px;height:288px;" /></div>
			<div class="row">
				<div class="col-sm-6 col-sm-offset-2">
					<input type="text" class="form-control" id="search" 
						name="search" placeholder="What are you looking for?" 
						value="<?php echo html_attr($search); ?>"
						style="font-size: 2em;"
						>
				</div>
				<div class="col-sm-2">
					<button style="font-size: 2em;" type="submit" class="btn btn-default btn-block"><i class="glyphicon glyphicon-search"></i> Search</button>
				</div>
			</div>
		</form>
		<?php
		return ob_get_clean();
	}
	/* function to process search */
	function process_search($search = ''){
		if(!$search) return false;
		
		/* get tables accessible by current user */
		$tables = getTableList();
		if(!count($tables)) return false;
		
		/* perform search */
		$results = array();
		foreach($tables as $tn => $tdata){
			$res = sql(get_search_query($tn, $search), $eo);
			while($row = db_fetch_assoc($res)){
				$results[$tn][] = array(
					'id' => $row['PRIMARY_KEY_VALUE'],
					'record' => array_slice($row, 1, NULL, true)
				);
			}
		}
		
		return $results;
	}
	/* function to render search results */
	function render_search_results($results, $search = ''){
if (is_array($results)) {
		if(!count($results) || !$results) return '';
		
		$tables = getTableList();
		
		$html = '<h2>Showing matches from ' . count($results) . ' tables</h2>';
		foreach($results as $tn => $tres){
			if(!count($tres)) continue;
			
			ob_start();
			?>
			<button type="button" class="btn btn-info btn-lg vspacer-lg">
				<?php echo $tables[$tn][0]; ?>
				<span class="badge"><?php echo count($tres); ?></span>
			</button>
			<div class="table-responsive">
				<table class="table table-striped table-hover table-bordered">
					<thead>
						<tr>
							<th></th>
							<?php foreach($tres[0]['record'] as $label => $v){ ?>
								<th><?php echo $label; ?></th>
							<?php } ?>
						</tr>
					</thead>
					<tbody>
						<?php foreach($tres as $rec){ ?>
							<?php $link = "../{$tn}_view.php?SelectedID=" . urlencode($rec['id']); ?>
							<tr>
								<td><a href="<?php echo $link; ?>" class="btn btn-default" target="_blank"><i class="glyphicon glyphicon-search"></i></a></td>
								<?php foreach($rec['record'] as $v){ ?>
									<td><?php echo $v; ?></td>
								<?php } ?>
							</tr>
						<?php } ?>
					</tbody>
				</table>
			</div>
			<?php
			$html .= ob_get_clean();
		}
		
		return $html;
}
	}
	/* function to get a list of query fields of a given table */
	function list_of_fields($tn){
		$fields = preg_split('/ as \'.*?\',? ?/', get_sql_fields($tn));
		if(!count($fields) || $fields === false) return false;
		array_pop($fields); // remove last element as it's an empty string
		return $fields;
	}
	/* function to prepare search query */
	function get_search_query($tn, $search){
		if(!$search) return false;
		$fields = list_of_fields($tn);
		if(!$fields) return false;
		
		$safe_search = makeSafe($search);
		$where = " AND CONCAT_WS('||', " . implode(', ', $fields) . ") LIKE '%{$safe_search}%'";
		$pk = "`{$tn}`.`" . getPKFieldName($tn) . "` as 'PRIMARY_KEY_VALUE'";
		$query = "SELECT {$pk}, " . get_sql_fields($tn) . " FROM " . get_sql_from($tn) . $where;
		
		return $query;
	}

User avatar
D Oliveira
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 303
Joined: 2018-03-04 09:30
Location: Orlando, FL

Re: global search plugin for just specific tables?

Post by D Oliveira » 2022-08-06 14:23

found the solution for this one as well but be cautious because you will have to change a core appgini file named incCommom.php

duplicate the function getTableList(), give it another name and only keep the tables you want to search, then in your global script change the function name to reflect that =)

Post Reply