Import a database into an existing project

If you're a new user of AppGini, feel free to ask general usage questions, or look for answers here.
Post Reply
brudy
Veteran Member
Posts: 38
Joined: 2023-02-04 11:35

Import a database into an existing project

Post by brudy » 2023-03-16 07:40

Hello,

I have a project in progress and I would like to add an existing database. Is it possible to import ?

Rudy

User avatar
jsetzer
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 1832
Joined: 2018-07-06 06:03
Location: Kiel, Germany
Contact:

Re: Import a database into an existing project

Post by jsetzer » 2023-03-16 17:44

Perhaps this can help:
https://bigprof.com/appgini/m2a

But, honestly speaking, I did not use it for years now. For me it has always been easier to start a new project from scratch, then add required tables and fields manually, and, if necessary at all, import and convert data from old database tables into new structures. This gives the opportunity to improve the data model and perhaps to throw away badly-modeled/not-normalized legacy structures for performance- and storage-improvement.

This is just my personal "best-practice" and experience.
Kind regards,
<js />

My AppGini Blog:
https://appgini.bizzworxx.de/blog

You can help us helping you:
Please always put code fragments inside [code]...[/code] blocks for better readability

AppGini 24.10 Revision 1579 + all AppGini Helper tools

brudy
Veteran Member
Posts: 38
Joined: 2023-02-04 11:35

Re: Import a database into an existing project

Post by brudy » 2023-03-16 18:30

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback

I started my project from scratch, but I have the database from my billing program (invoidceplane) and I would like to be able to retrieve the information (name, surname, address, etc.) of my customers to inject them into my project without disturbing the billing script. I have already used m2a.php, I even opened the .axp file with notepad++ to see if I could not add the DB

Post Reply