Link or join tables

If you're a new user of AppGini, feel free to ask general usage questions, or look for answers here.
Post Reply
Reptar Eater
Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-10-06 18:07

Link or join tables

Post by Reptar Eater » 2015-10-06 20:27

Hello all

I am new and I did some power searching on join and link in relation to the advanced filters. I did not really see a quick and simple way to join tables together in the way I envisioned. Example I want to use the advance filters and be able to use fields from different tables. See below

Table 1 column - dog
Table 2 column - food
Table 3 column - Toys

Advance filter

Filtered field comparison operator comparison value

filter 01 dog = poodle
filter 02 food = kibble
filter 03 toys = bone

Based on these fields in different tables I want the data to be displayed. How do I do this? Would this require some modification in the code or did I over look something? Thanks for your help.

User avatar
a.gneady
Site Admin
Posts: 992
Joined: 2012-09-27 14:46
Contact:

Re: Link or join tables

Post by a.gneady » 2015-10-06 21:59

Hmm ... you probably need to combine the fields into a fourth table using lookup fields. You can then search the fourth table the way you described above.
:idea: Learn all the tips and tricks of customizing AppGini apps through our online course.

:arrow: Summary Reports plugin enables you to build powerful reports and charts inside your AppGini application through a few simple steps. See the big picture and discover trends in your data that empower you to take the right decisions confidently.

:arrow: Search Page Maker enables you to build user-friendly yet powerful search pages for your AppGini application by simply dragging and dropping the fields you want to include in search.

Reptar Eater
Posts: 2
Joined: 2015-10-06 18:07

Re: Link or join tables

Post by Reptar Eater » 2015-10-09 03:03

Okay I understand what you are getting at but I was looking for a way to do this with appgini without creating a fourth table with all these fields.

User avatar
urichard
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-11-01 12:11

Re: Link or join tables

Post by urichard » 2018-11-03 12:47

Hi Admin

Is it possible with either code in the hooks folder or in appgini itself to create a way of auto filtering data in a table according to a certain client.. i.o.w there is one table with 3 different clients but each client has about 10 records in this table and all the records of all the 3 clients are all mixed.. i want to filter them not with the front end but actualy have 1 link or button that when clicked it will do 3 things, nr 1 filter all the same clients records together, nr 2 send an email or push notification to that client with their own records and what was changed and nr 3 create a screenshot copy of what was just sent to each client and store it on the database?

I hope all this would be possible?

Kind Regards
Richard
richardaslabbert@gmail.com[/color]

Kind Regards
Richard

pböttcher
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 378
Joined: 2018-04-01 10:12

Re: Link or join tables

Post by pböttcher » 2018-11-05 09:34

Hi Richard,

can you please start a new post with your question as it is not related to this one.
Aslo it would be helpful if you show a screenshot of what you try to acheive.

User avatar
urichard
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-11-01 12:11

Re: Link or join tables

Post by urichard » 2018-11-21 21:06

Hi pbottcher i have tried starting a new post? how do i start my own post?
richardaslabbert@gmail.com[/color]

Kind Regards
Richard

pböttcher
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 378
Joined: 2018-04-01 10:12

Re: Link or join tables

Post by pböttcher » 2018-11-22 06:27

Hi,

looks like you managed to find how to create a new post 8-) :

https://forums.appgini.com/phpbb/viewto ... dd09dc90a3

User avatar
urichard
Posts: 16
Joined: 2018-11-01 12:11

Re: Link or join tables

Post by urichard » 2018-11-22 08:50

Haha yes i did!! thanks for checking up on me lol
richardaslabbert@gmail.com[/color]

Kind Regards
Richard

Post Reply