Custom Filters

If you're a new user of AppGini, feel free to ask general usage questions, or look for answers here.
Post Reply
uchhavi
Posts: 26
Joined: 2018-05-15 14:07

Custom Filters

Post by uchhavi » 2019-04-12 16:49

Hello,

I am creating a custom filter page by seeing the tutorial from udemy.

I am facing an issue.

Table Name: enquiries
Table Field: co_type
This field I am autofilling from another table companies, when the user selects the company, its category is autofilled.

Issue:
I have used the below code as suggested in the udemy:
Issue is that one category name comes multiple number of times... attaching the error


<script>
$j(function(){
/* display a drop down of User Category that populates its contents from ajax_combo.php */
$j('#CategoryDropDown').select2({
ajax: {
url: 'ajax_combo.php',
dataType: 'json',
cache: true,
data: function(term, page){ return { s: term, p: page, t: 'enquiries', f: 'co_type' }; },
results: function(resp, page){ return resp; }
},
width: 200
}).on('change', function(e){
$j('#CategoryID').val(e.added.text);
});

/* preserve the applies category filter and show it when re-opening the filters page */
if($j('#CategoryID').val().length){
$j.ajax({
url: 'ajax_combo.php',
dataType: 'json',
data: { s: $j('#CategoryID').val(), p: 1, t: 'enquiries', f: 'co_type' }
}).done(function(resp){
if(resp.results.length){
$j('#CategoryDropDown').select2('data', {
id: resp.results[1].id,
text: resp.results[1].text
});
}
});
}
})
</script>
Attachments
Search Enquiry error.png
Search Enquiry error.png (96.5 KiB) Viewed 182 times
Best regards,

Chhavi Jain

pböttcher
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 377
Joined: 2018-04-01 10:12

Re: Custom Filters

Post by pböttcher » 2019-04-12 20:58

Hi,

as a guess, in the page you show, there is no category-id but you refere to that this should be the selected Item to use for the auto-fill,
so your query joins all companies to all categories which give these multiples.
What would you like the user to see here? For what would this entry be used?

uchhavi
Posts: 26
Joined: 2018-05-15 14:07

Re: Custom Filters

Post by uchhavi » 2019-04-13 08:52

Dear pböttcher,

Yes you are right. I my enquiries table I have a field company_id (which i am selecting from the table companies and the another field user category (which I am autofilling from the companies table based on the company user selects.

I would like the users to see unique values of the category id... in the customised filter page
so Consultant should come only one time and so should the other values in that field....

Please can you advise what changes I can make in the code to do it.
Best regards,

Chhavi Jain

uchhavi
Posts: 26
Joined: 2018-05-15 14:07

Re: Custom Filters

Post by uchhavi » 2019-04-15 11:16

Please help me solve this.....

uchhavi wrote:
2019-04-13 08:52
Dear pböttcher,

Yes you are right. I my enquiries table I have a field company_id (which i am selecting from the table companies and the another field user category (which I am autofilling from the companies table based on the company user selects.

I would like the users to see unique values of the category id... in the customised filter page
so Consultant should come only one time and so should the other values in that field....

Please can you advise what changes I can make in the code to do it.
Best regards,

Chhavi Jain

pböttcher
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 377
Joined: 2018-04-01 10:12

Re: Custom Filters

Post by pböttcher » 2019-04-15 17:28

Hi,

can you post the query you have in the lookup for the field where the user selects the company.

uchhavi
Posts: 26
Joined: 2018-05-15 14:07

Re: Custom Filters

Post by uchhavi » 2019-04-16 08:11

Hello,

I have attached the screen shot of the Enquiry table, where we are capturing the company from the user.
Based on the selection that is done by the user, the company category/ type as well as the location/ country of the company is autofilled.

Now in the customised search section, I want to filter the enquiry table using company category as well as company location.
I used the code that was shown in the Udemy.. but in the dropdown ... i am getting multiple values.. as I have shown already.

I want to get unique values... i have already shown the picture of how my search query works.

Please can you help me solve this.
Attachments
Enquiry Table.png
Enquiry Table.png (158.9 KiB) Viewed 108 times
Best regards,

Chhavi Jain

pböttcher
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 377
Joined: 2018-04-01 10:12

Re: Custom Filters

Post by pböttcher » 2019-04-16 18:28

Hi,

thanks, can you show which fields map to the CATEGORY and COUNTRY in you APPGini Setting, also can you post the SQL statement.
Unbenannt.GIF
Unbenannt.GIF (57.81 KiB) Viewed 90 times

uchhavi
Posts: 26
Joined: 2018-05-15 14:07

Re: Custom Filters

Post by uchhavi » 2019-04-17 12:53

Hi

I am attaching a file that shows the enquirires table in the appgini database.

There is no sql query for this... I am hoping this is what u have asked for.
Attachments
Enquiry Custom Search issue.jpg
Enquiry Custom Search issue.jpg (104.79 KiB) Viewed 69 times
Best regards,

Chhavi Jain

pböttcher
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 377
Joined: 2018-04-01 10:12

Re: Custom Filters

Post by pböttcher » 2019-04-17 19:32

Hi,

sorry to ask again,

can you please post the SQL for the company_id field, as I assume that this is the one which causes the auto-fill.

uchhavi
Posts: 26
Joined: 2018-05-15 14:07

Re: Custom Filters

Post by uchhavi » 2019-04-18 06:45

Hi,

I have pasted the code below

SELECT `companies`.`id`, `companies`.`name` FROM `companies` LEFT JOIN `user_categories` as user_categories1 ON `user_categories1`.`id`=`companies`.`user_cat_id` LEFT JOIN `countries` as countries1 ON `countries1`.`id`=`companies`.`country_id` ORDER BY 2
Best regards,

Chhavi Jain

pböttcher
AppGini Super Hero
AppGini Super Hero
Posts: 377
Joined: 2018-04-01 10:12

Re: Custom Filters

Post by pböttcher » 2019-04-18 10:07

Hi,

can you change the SQL to :

SELECT `companies`.`id`, `companies`.`name` FROM `companies` ORDER BY 2

and try again.

Why do you need user_categories and countries in your SQL?

uchhavi
Posts: 26
Joined: 2018-05-15 14:07

Re: Custom Filters

Post by uchhavi » 2019-04-19 05:39

Hi,

I did the above but no change. The dropdown is still showing duplicate values.

Is the code that I use okay?
I have used 3 same dropdown codes on the same file. only changing the DropDown name and ID.
Best regards,

Chhavi Jain

Post Reply